Re-Elected Mayor Vonda Malone and Councillors sworn into office


Torres Shire Council’s first Indigenous female Mayor, Vonda Malone, was re-elected and alongside the newly elected councillor, Allan Ketchell (who was a councillor some years ago) and the re-elected councillors Thomas Loban, John Abednego and Gabriel Bani was officially sworn into office on Wednesday, 22 April 2020.

The Declaration of Office Ceremony was held in the Torres Shire Council Chambers on 68 Douglas Street, Thursday Island. On this formal occasion, a maximum of one (1) family member was able to be present to witness the proceedings at 9:20am and due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, social distancing was strictly observed during the Declaration of Office ceremony.

On this occasion, the Declaration of Office, as prescribed under Section 169(2) of the Local Government Act 2009 was conducted by virtue of the authority vested in the Council’s Chief Executive Officer, Mrs Dalassa Yorkston. Father Tom Stephen officially blessed the newly elected Mayor and Councillors.


About tsc

(L to R: Cr. Gabriel Bani, Cr. Allen Ketchell, Cr. John Abednego, Mayor Vonda Malone, Cr. Thomas Loban)

Mayor Malone addressed the meeting welcoming the new Council and advised that she looked forward to working as a team with the three returning councillors, and the newly elected councillor. Mayor Malone expressed her appreciation to the community for their support and congratulated the incoming councillors.

The Post-Election Council Meeting consisting of the Mayor, Councillors, Chief Executive Officer and Minute Secretary will take place at 9:00am on Friday, 24 April 2020.

End Release.

TSC Media Contact: CEO Dalassa Yorkston

Mobile: 0429 691 333