Public Notice - Biosecurity Update as at 1 June 2020


The Queensland Government has eased many restrictions in Queensland from midday, Monday 1 June 2020. Torres Shire remains a part of the Designated Biosecurity Area with travel restrictions in place.

If you travel outside Torres Shire and wish to come back, you must meet entry requirements available on our website and entry is subject to meeting the Biosecurity Determination.

The Queensland Government has announced a three-stage lifting of the Designated Biosecurity Area entry restrictions.

Stage 1 enables people entering or re-entering a designated community to self-quarantine within that community, where safe to do so. Under Stage 1, quarantine exemptions will remain in place for essential workers, those travelling through communities without stopping and those granted an exemption by the Chair of the Local Disaster Management Group in the designated area. S

tage 2 (nominal date 12 June 2020, but yet to be determined) can commence following the Commonwealth removal of communities from the Biosecurity Determination. The Chief Health Officer will publish a direction that enables communities to become part of ’safe travel zones’ based on public health advice.

Stage 3 of the Roadmap removes entry and quarantine restrictions, for remote and discrete Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities, subject to the same provisions for Queensland under the Roadmap to Easing Restrictions. Council will keep the community updated as the changes are implemented.

Dalassa Yorkston