The Torres Shire Community

The Shire of Torres covers the Torres Strait, extends down past the tip of Australia, and includes small islands near Cape York Peninsula. The core business for the Torres Shire Council consists of providing essential services to residents on Thursday Island, Horn Island and Prince of Wales Island and parts of the Torres Strait and Northern Peninsula Area (NPA) region.

The Community within the Shire consists mainly of Torres Strait Islanders, as well as residents with Asian, Papua New Guinean, European, and Aboriginal heritage. There are a range of community services within the Shire, with organisations and government departments established to provide help and assistance to families and individuals who are affected by stress, physical & emotional abuse and domestic violence to services offered in the field of law, justice, employment, education & home and community care.


Torres Shire Council Community Directory

A link to the directory of products and services available within our community can be found here.